goetheanum einszueins

This is about an exhibition which opens later this year. There’s not much available information yet, so that’s not why I mention it. No, instead, the reason is purely aesthetical. This, the project website, is one example of fabulous design. First, the photo. No pink fluff, but plain concrete. Rather scruffy, but magnificent. Second, the font. ‘It’s cool’, I thought. I then realized it contains elements of the familiar waldorf/anthro font. But it’s been tweaked in a wonderful way. Or perhaps it’s not a tweak but a question of subtle inspiration and, basically, a new and different font. (Please, if it’s a standard font from Microsoft, be kind enough not to tell me ;-) I don’t know if I could survive such a blow. I want to imagine this is a brand new anthro font.) Whatever the case, and I think it is the latter, it’s simply cool. Very clean and neat. I had to take a screenshot. The addition of a black border, on the picture above, is mine — to emphasize how clean, white the webpage is; this wouldn’t be visible here otherwise, since my background is white too. Of course, you should go and look at the website. But I thought perhaps you wouldn’t realize you had to unless I really showed you how pretty it is. Unfortunately, for us text freaks, there’s not much text yet. Maybe there will be. And more photos, please, more photos!

9 thoughts on “goetheanum einszueins

  1. Oh! I only now saw the name on the picture.

    And, also, it just hit me, I wonder if that is concrete? it could be old wooden boards that have turned greyish.

  2. My inference from the first paragraph of the text is that it is the goetheanum building itself which is being seen as a sculpture. The photo certainly looks like concrete to me, especially the left-hand arch. My guess is that we are looking at one of the more structural elements, maybe from the interior. There are some very interesting vaults and support beams when you get inside. The building was one of the first to use wooden shuttering as formers, deliberately leaving the imprint of the planks as a surface feature.
    But you could be right, maybe it is a wooden structure we are looking at.

  3. ‘My guess is that we are looking at one of the more structural elements, maybe from the interior.’

    I thought so too.

    There are truly amazing old pictures of when it was built, when it isn’t quite finished yet — fantastic stuff.

    ‘… deliberately leaving the imprint of the planks as a surface feature.’

    Ah! That’s why the concrete in anthroposophical buildings often have this resemblance of wooden planks! Actually, if you look at a distance or it’s tiny picture, it’s difficult to see the difference. And old unpainted planks can look just like concrete, but this perhaps is most common if they’ve been subjected to wind, sun, water for a long time.

  4. Yes – they have someone on the case who knows something about contemporary design! I wonder how many anthro zealots they had to bludgeon before they could get a new idea across. It looks great.

  5. ‘I wonder how many anthro zealots they had to bludgeon before they could get a new idea across.’

    It’s taken a while, so I think quite a few of them… (Actually, Goetheanum’s website and some other websites aren’t that bad… I mean they aren’t hideous. Like Waldorf Answers; that one’s really awful. But the neutral ones, like the G’s, are quite bland. Nothing special. Quite conventional. Boring. Even though you don’t feel sick when watching them, which is a plus, sort of, in the world of anthro web design…)

    A year ago I saw a rather good looking and unconventional eurythmy website, too. Can’t remember where and what it was, unfortunately.

Comments are closed.