anthroposophy and induction stoves

I had one of these silly ideas one can have when when is delirious with hunger. Over-hungry sometimes has the same effect as over-tired, I’ve noticed. For some inexplicable reason, I suddenly had to know what anthroposophy might say about induction cooking. I learnt about the importance of cooking pots, about cosmic energy and composition, about open-fire cooking being suited best for cave-men, about how electricity is anti-natural, ruled by evil spirits, opposed to good… and so on. The computer can turn you into a zombie, I should warn you. Ceramic pots are the best, in case you can’t afford gold, although I’m sure all of my readers can afford gold pans. (In the ethereal kiosk, we cook all our food in gold pans. Over an open fire in the garden cave after chasing out the gnomes who have taken up residency there.) Unfortunately, there’s not much reliable holistic science on induction stoves and their effects on the spiritual properties of food. But there are a few things that can be said:

I have very limited knowledge of induction cooking, and even less practice! But a large appliance reliant on electro-magnetic waves does not sound an attractive thing to have in one’s kitchen. I have to add that I am also no fan of mobile phone (stations) in a kitchen. So, I might be a little too neurotic about dotting i’s and crossing t’s when it comes to electrical goods. After all, I would not do without a fridge (but I have a tiny ice-cube freezer only). The problem with the electricity of an induction cooker is that it goes directly into the pot: here it creates the heat. In effect the food is directly exposed to electro-magnetic waves, unlike with a tradtional coil or smooth top electrical cooker, where a pan still mediates. You lose the protective bedding of the pan, and end up with a kind of modern cave-man situation of cooking over an open fire, but then a dead one.

Next we will have to conclude that non-metallic cooking pots are not favoured by induction cooking (bad conductors of heat). So we lose that dynamic and potentising force already. Not very much else can be said about this method of cooking, since holistic sources make little mention of it when a gas (or if without a choice, electric) cooker and an electric oven are good enough for what you would like to prepare holistically.

Now you know more, and I can focus on curing my starvation. (In fact, I’m cooking on my very ahrimanic induction stove right now.) That article, entitled ‘Induction cooking health hazards’, is worth reading.

9 thoughts on “anthroposophy and induction stoves

  1. “a large appliance reliant on electro-magnetic waves does not sound an attractive thing to have in one’s kitchen”

    In which case you will need to remove:
    * Cooker (if electric or fan-assisted)
    * Refrigerator
    * Freezer
    * Microwave oven
    * Food processor
    * Kettle
    * Dishwasher
    * Washing machine
    * Dryer

    And, if you have them, espresso machine and so on.

    Fortunatley this is all actually completely unnecessary as there is no known risk to health from non-ionising radiation (mains powered devices, basically) and this is after a century ad more of study, including on people who work in power stations and are exposed to much higher levels than your induction hob could ever produce.

    Induction hobs, and halogen hobs, are technical marvels, dramatically more efficient than old-fashioned hotplates. You’d be daft to reject them because of some pseudoscientific twaddle.

  2. Actually, I suspect some people would be all too happy to let some of these appliances go… For example, anthroposophists (and some other people) rarely use microwave ovens. I guess many of them wouldn’t actually work in power stations either! Of course — they don’t mind talking about health risks as that sounds serious, but basically, what it is about is a spiritual belief. Notice how some of the text deals with the spiritual properties of food. So, nothing you can measure — and, I guess, these spiritual properties supposedly affect the physical organism, but it’s certainly not straightforward (or possible to investigate with science). They’d say, ‘so what?’ — the research on people working in power stations did not take the spiritual side into account. Didn’t measure effects on karma. Or whatever.

    So there are halogen hobs? I didn’t know. I like my induction stove, but I don’t like halogen lights at all.

  3. My mother is still afraid of microwave ovens. Seriously. She has one in her place, but only because we put it there so that we can use it when we are there.

  4. There was one in my parents’ place when they moved there. Built in. My mother doesn’t use it. She thinks it’s a very suspicious creature. There may be worries about safety, but also, I suppose, never having got used to the technology when everybody else did.

  5. Wow, I’m amazed at how people would rather live in the dark still. Just because you don’t believe in it doesn’t make it untrue. You do realize some countries have banned microwave ovens because it actually changes the molecular structure of the food, zaps all nutrients and changes the energy of the food as well as adds radiation to it. But have at her. Do as you wish but no reason to judge others.

Comments are closed.