rosendal in new york times

This is very cool. Rosendals Trädgård — that biodynamic place, you know, or at least Melanie does! — is in a New York Times travel article about Stockholm. Henry Alford writes:

… at the wonderful Rosendals Tradgard, in a park, you buy your baked goods or lunch inside one of the garden center’s hot, pressure cooker-like greenhouses and then collapse at a picnic table or on the grass.

It’s also a text about doorless bathrooms and the tunnelbana (which we, as natives, only complain about) and people with summer-houses on islands (it’s true, as you know!), about cleanliness and efficiency and dark winters and suicides. A little later:

And yes, I had envisioned having a mental collapse at Lisa Larsson and Rosendals Tradgard. But, overall, to a visitor like me, Stockholm’s bright sun is fairly blinding. It can all seem a little too perfect.

Rosendal is mentioned as well in the ‘where to eat’ section, as an ‘oasis of organic and artisanal soups, sandwiches and baked goods. The adjoining garden center sells plants; an adjoining gift shop sells bread and jams.’ It’s all very true. Their baked goods and their plants are simply to die for. And in the autumn, the fruit and vegetables from the garden are usually superior to anything else, except possibly to having your own garden (but it’s a lot simpler buying).

at Rosendal, a month ago

14 thoughts on “rosendal in new york times

  1. Yes, it makes me want to go there.
    We toured Sweden in a camper van when I was a child but sadly I only have hazy memories. I know we went to Gothenburg.
    The doorless bathrooms are on a par with the unisex French ones we encountered recently. We overheard some men complaining they couldn’t go – not surprising really, with women walking in and out.
    We Brits are not used to such ways.

  2. there’s no hint of any anthroposophy though (unless you can see the gnomes) so you CAN have your cake and eat it – especially as they use less sugar (a thing I like).

    I’d love to walk through those gardens in the sunshine (or anywhere in the sunshine). When I was there last Autumn Alicia and I kept an eye out for Sune, in case he was lurking anywhere. But alas, he didn’t show up.

  3. You mean remove the repeated sentence? Yep. (Hope I’m interpreting you right, I’m almost falling asleep!! But I’ll remove it first!)

    How nice! You probably saw some countryside then, travelling in a van! Ulf Ärnström knows Gothenburg. I’ve only been there once, when I was 14, and then only in the harbour… Suffice to say, I never had time to get to know the local elementals.

  4. Less sugar — lots of fat and spices. Very good cake. It’s like a drug. And the bread is wonderful.

    There is a hint of anthroposophy in some of the architecture and colours, but it’s very subtle.

    Now the rose garden in in bloom; it’s lovely. It is quite a different place in the summer as compared to in october…!

    I get most of my plants there as well. They come full of etheric forces and elemental beings clining to them!

  5. ‘There is a hint of anthroposophy in some of the architecture and colours,’ as I say, gnomes! Not with beards and in pointy hats.

    Yes, I remember when I idly watered a pot plant in your flat, a fairy bit me.

  6. Turns out we took a ferry from Denmark to Helsingborg then drove to Stockholm then up to
    Norway and back to Gothenburg to go home. What a shame I can’t remember!
    My mother remembers wonderful rye bread in Sweden and a natural beauty spot in Stockholm with ferns and boulders by the sea. Do you know where that would have been?
    Probably there are many such places around Stockholm.

  7. I’ve also taken the Helsingborg – Denmark ferry quite a few times as a child!

    I’ve been thinking about the ferns and boulders but can’t even guess. There are ferns and boulders in many places, and I can’t think of any place more spectacular than any other.

Comments are closed.