releasing toxins

Here’s an interview with M A Kirkwood, anthroposophist and author of humourous books for teenagers. One book is about ‘the quest of a discarnate entity’. She (the author, not the entity) seems like a sympathetic soul, although it’s unlikely I’ll ever read the books (I’m clearly not the target group at all). Anyway, I’d like to share what she says about humour:

Firstly, the humor here is so prevalent, yet you also have a spiritual dimension in your work—tell me about the special connection you have with spirit and humor.

I have always maintained that the two are almost inseparable.  When we laugh, we release toxins in soul, spirit and body. As you know, there have been medical studies on this, as far as the body. But evolved individuals have known about the soul and spirit part for centuries. A good comedy writer also knows a thing or two about loss and sorrow. I think of writers like Mark Twain who suffered great loss. But to know pain is to open the window to sheer joy. It’s a fascinating phenomenon to me, but I also know this in my own experience. I had a dysfunctional upbringing, with complex and difficult parents, but oddly, they had a deep appreciation for humor. My mom could have easily been a stand-up comedian. But she had a complicated and painful early life. Humor was her way out, and so was mine—except I always had this fascination with spirituality, so I bring that with me into my writing.

I’m slightly surprised by the stuff on toxins released through laughter. However, I don’t doubt the need of humour on the way to the higher worlds (as Steiner recommended); it makes the journey so much more pleasant, even if one never arrives at the very final stop. Personally, I’ve made a stopover in the ethereal kiosk. It may be a permanent stopover. It’s about half way to the higher realms, I figure. And I heard a rumour that the champagne is better here, than up there.

2 thoughts on “releasing toxins

  1. Alicia, enjoy life in your cosy kiosk, and remember, between Spiritus Sanctiis and Spiritus Fortis, there is no difference whatsoever. Indeed Lagavulin´s 16 year old, so Fortis as it may be, could easily be taken for Sanctis by the sheer heavenly bouquet.

Comments are closed.