walk

we took a walk. It was muddy. It was dark. There was, however, an event: a kind of festival of light. There were too many people and we even saw people walk cats on leashes. ‘Odd’, said mr Dog.

We walked from home to this place. It’s an old greenhouse.

We passed all sorts of things (including the cats, as I already told you, but we’re a bit shocked!) on the way.

(I only included the last one so that you’ll know how dreadful the winter in Stockholm can look like before the snow. Slightly outside of the city.)

8 thoughts on “walk

  1. Hi Alicia,

    Once again, I exclaim: “How did you do this?”

    I’m intrigued that this all appeared during the course of a walk.

    Several years ago, I tried to account for my experience of a walk in an academic context. Failure. While I tried to describe and record many sense-impressions and personal observations, these just became submerged in minute details.

    For me, this wonderful portfolio of materials is all the more wonderful after that rather dismal experience.

    Reflecting on these amazing images, I’m struck by the way in which they are connected by a very clear theme. I reckon this explains the connection being made and the way in which it may be understood by the reader.

    Today, we discussed the media briefly. There were no clear conclusions. My readsing suggests that use of a camera may be backed up or supported by technology. In traditional cameras, the creation of images arose through applications of chemistry. For me, these aspects may be quite different.

    Greetings,

    David

  2. ‘Once again, I exclaim: “How did you do this?”’

    I walked, and occasionally I took out the camera (and the tripod) and shot a few pics. All the pictures are from the same park. It was not somehow difficult for all these things to appear during one and the same walk — in fact, I had many more pictures I chose not to include in this post!

    I suspect that an account of a walk can find a better, i e more suitable, context than the academic. Unless, perhaps, the walk takes place for a specific reason — like collecting rare maggots, or something.

    It seems to me, David, that you fail to consider what might be appropriate in any given context or circumstance. Because this actually differs, from context to context. What is appropriate in poetry might not fly in an academic physics paper.

    ‘My readsing suggests that use of a camera may be backed up or supported by technology.’

    Oh dear. You don’t need reading to come to that conclusion, do you?

  3. Hi Alicia,

    Thanks for connecting. I have never claimed great insight. Indeed, perhaps the opposite, reflecting upon my serious and career threatening mistakes. Hence my respect..

    Greetings,

    David

  4. “I walked, and occasionally I took out the camera (and the tripod) and shot a few pics.”

    LOL. But what’s the ISBN?

  5. You may be quite surprised that i agree. Indeed, the vast majority of those may be discovered outside of books. The work of Michael Polanyi, a prominent empirical thinker, supports these insights. Wonderfully liberating in my view. Life is to be grasped. Great!

  6. ‘The work of Michael Polanyi, a prominent empirical thinker, supports these insights.’

    Well, great. Although it really is obvious, even without someone prominent to support it, isn’t it?

Comments are closed.