slussen

most of you probably don’t know about Slussen. (Melanie does. It is difficult to pronounce. Slussen.) It is a run down place in Stockholm, situated between the Baltic sea and lake Mälaren, between Old Town and Södermalm. Slussen has been the topic of public debate for Dog knows how long. Some people want to tear it down, others want to keep it at any cost. It has been neglected for decades, and that the construction still holds together is a small miracle. But it does. It’s not pretty, though. It’s rough. It’s unpleasant.

2 thoughts on “slussen

  1. Hi, Zooey. I should have said this along time ago, but I love your photography. You have a great eye and you seem to open to challenges, which is cool. Thanks for sharing this. If you are interested in this genre, you should take a visit to the US. There are even photographers who break into condemned buildings to photograph them. I have seen some beautiful work on the decay and dereliction theme done by American artists. Unfortunately, we have a lot of that to offer in our country! Anyway, keep up the good work. I envy that you have the time for nature walks but happy that you can do it. I carry the photos and culinary commentary you did a while back on mushrooms in my blog consciousness. :)

  2. Thank you!

    Yes, it’s a very interesting genre, and quite popular in Sweden too, though I suppose the opportunities to pursue it are much bigger in the US. I’ve seen the work in this genre by some american photographers, whose names I’ve forgotten, but the photos were absolutely stunning.

Comments are closed.