2016.02.28

In Wolfgang Vögele’s indispensable book of Steiner anecdotes, there’s one in particular that adds to our understanding of our favourite esotericist. Of course, there are other dog-related stories and anecdotes: Pschulek, the dog who founded canineosophy; Mussolini, the poodle (was it the one who had run away from a circus? I had this anecdote somewhere, but I can’t find it now); Schopenhauer who, if he were a dog, would have written ‘The world as will and smell’ (more interesting than the book Schopenhauer, the bipedal philosopher, wrote, Steiner says)… But this one that I will relate now is particularly good. It comes from Steiner’s letters during his time in Weimar in the 1890s. In Weimar, he had got to know a Danish writer and admirer of Goethe, Rudolf Schmidt; the two of them then exchanged letters, which Rudolf Schmidt apparently ended by including a greeting from his dog, Bajer, “the four-legged Goethe”. Steiner expresses regret that Schmidt hadn’t brought Bajer to Weimar, and recieves a photograph of the dog, which he puts on his desk. Sending a new year’s greeting to Schmidt, Schmidt’s wife and the dog with the big personality in late December, 1890, he adds an analysis of Bajer’s countenance:

Bajers Bild finde ich ungeheuer charakteristisch. In seiner Physiognomie liegt so viel, daß wohl ein jeder, ob er Dichter oder Philosoph ist, etwas herauslesen kann. Ich finde, von meinem Standpunkte aus, das Bild als das eines Philosophen, und zwar möchte ich ihn unter den Deutschen entschieden Fichte am nächsten
stellen. Es liegt etwas vom «absoluten Ich» in dieser Physiognomie. Diese Augen verraten eine Selbstheit, die nicht so einfach von und durch Natur gesetzt ist, sondern die nachher durch «absolute Tätigkeit» Selbst gesetzt hat. Es spricht
aus seinen Zügen in der behaglichen und klugen Ruhe entschieden das: «Ich bin, weil ich bin und bin, was ich bin, schlechthin, weil ich bin.»

You’ll find this part of the letter cited in Vögele’s, but also (the entire letter) in GA 39 (December 27, 1890).

In a later letter (January 21, 1891), not quoted in Vögele’s book, Steiner reports:

Daß ich Bajer den Herren im Goethe-Archiv feierlichst vorgestellt habe, schrieb ich Ihnen wohl schon. Dr. von der Hellen mußte doch wissen, über welches Wesen er sich bei der ersten Mitteilung über Bajer so im unklaren geblieben ist. Seine westpreußische Nüchternheit konnte sich freilich bis zu der Erkenntnis dessen, was er da auf dem «selbstgewählten St. Helena» vor sich hatte, nicht aufschwingen. Das verdroß mich. Aber ich will Ihnen doch nicht verhehlen,
daß ich Bajers Bild mit dem seiner Herrin knapp hinter meinem Tintenfasse auf dem Schreibtische postiert habe.

The letter ends with a greeting not only to Schmidt and his wife but also to “meinem «vierbeinigen Ich-Philosophen»”. In a letter written in April, Steiner hopes that Schmidt will bring “the four-legged Goethe” to Weimar; he wants to meet him. A sound intuition, doubtlessly.

2 thoughts on “2016.02.28

  1. Howl! Yes, indeed, it’s a very good sign. Not all bipedals are quite so perceptive. Actually, quite few, if you ask mr D, who is certain that Rudi would understand a dog’s need for cookies and treats.

please leave a howl, a bark, a growl, a tail-wag or a comment! (comments are moderated, thus it might take a while for them to appear on the blog)

